Los Angeles Times (October 6, 2017): Knowing the Signs of Lewy Body Dementia May Help Speed Diagnosis

Today, HHS Secretary Tom Price, M.D. announced seven new members to serve on the Advisory Council on Alzheimer’s Research, Care, and Services. The council, established in 2011, convenes quarterly to advise the Secretary on federal programs that affect people with Alzheimer’s disease and related dementias, and continue development and progress on the National Plan to Address Alzheimer’s Disease by HHS, Veterans Affairs, the Department of Defense, and the National Science Foundation. The new members will serve four-year terms and replace the members whose terms expire in September. Secretary Price addressed the six outgoing members of the council at their last meeting in July, thanking them for their service and dedication.

“We are pleased to welcome this group of experienced members, including a patient advocate living with dementia, to continue the important work of the advisory council in assisting HHS with further progress on treating and curing Alzheimer’s disease and related dementias,” said Secretary Price. “We received over a hundred nominations for this round of new members, which clearly demonstrates the level of engagement and continued commitment towards making progress on this disease.”

Dr. Laura N. Gitlin, who joined the council in 2015, will be the next chair of the council, replacing Dr. Ronald Petersen. Dr. Gitlin is an applied research sociologist, is the Isabel Hampton Robb Distinguished Professor within the School of Nursing with joint appointments in the Department of Psychiatry and Division of Geriatric Medicine within the School of Medicine at Johns Hopkins University.  Starting February 1, 2018, she will be the Distinguished Professor and Dean of the College of Nursing and Health Professions, Drexel University.

The new members include Dr Brad Hyman — the Director of our Massachusetts Alzheimer’s Disease Research Center — and Katie Brandt, MS — the director of Caregiver Support Services at our MGH Frontotemporarl Disorders Unit!


Resize text-+=